I ride my own white horse…

October 7, 2010

I try my best to treasure each and every moment I have with my little girl. I’m well aware that this time will pass too quickly, and her beautiful smiles and chubby legs that come running toward me at the end of the day will one day not be waiting for me when I get home. She will save her smiles for her friends, her kisses for her boyfriends (hopefully not too many) and she will want to spend her time elsewhere, anywhere but home. So, there are moments that I try my best to etch into the memory folds of my brain, hoping to hang on to like a home video that I can play forever. Like when she smiles at me between the staircase railings, with her lips puckered for a kiss, or her giggles in response to my peek-a-boo faces. I want these memories to last forever.

Yesterday, we took a shopping trip to Target. Usually, this isn’t the most fun adventure for me, since she would rather walk on her own and pull everything off the shelves than stay in the cart. But, yesterday, she was being an absolute angel, sitting contently in the cart, playing with a baby wipe and digging in my purse. I got all my shopping done, so I decided to take a stroll down the costume aisle. Right away I spotted Elmo, and figured that would be the winner, but thought I should check out the rest just in case. I let her out of the cart to have her own look at the costumes, and she went straight for a white horse costume. (It was twice as expensive as the Elmo costume, so in my head Elmo is still pulling off the win at this point.) I speed through the rest of the aisle to check out what I thought might be a contender for number two – a pumpkin costume. When I turn around, I notice my precious little pumpkin is eating popcorn off the floor. Of course, when I tell her, “oh, honey…ick, that’s a no-no!” She gets upset because she thinks I am taking a perfectly salty and delicious snack from her. I quickly try to divert her attention with the Elmo costume, but she’s not interested, and dives enthusiastically for another kernel. When I take the popcorn from her hand and substitute it with Elmo a second time, she gets upset, pushes Elmo away, and goes straight to the white horse for consoling. As if to say, “Mama, that was my snack, and anyways, I don’t care about the Elmo costume! I said I wanted this one!” And with that, she took off – – holding on tight to the horse’s neck, with the legs dragging behind her, and her head peering over the nose. She was so adorable; she was turning everyone’s head. As I followed her from a distance, wishing I had my camera, I used all the brain power I could to tuck this memory away for safe-keeping. My little angel on a white horse, I love you!

Leave a Reply

KTLA

Los Angeles News and Video for Southern California

Pretzels and chocolate

Thoughts of a thirty-something

Fielstra Family for Haiti

Thoughts of a thirty-something

Thoughts of a thirty-something

Stupid Stork

Thoughts of a thirty-something

deathbyassociation

Just another WordPress.com site

