Precious Moments

September 25, 2012

“While we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about.” – unknown

I’m going to devote one day a week to record the precious moments of my children’s lives. The adorable things they do and say need to be recorded somewhere so I can savor these moments forever. It’s cliche, but time goes by too fast. And these days, I can say with certainty, are the best days of my life – days filled with bath bubbles, glue messes, tickles and goodnight stories. I wish I could live these days forever. Fourty years from now, this is what I want to remember:

How when I leave for work, I give kisses in my girl’s hand and she puts them in her pocket. When her daddy asked her for a kiss after I gave her one, she pointed to her lips and said, “but I want to keep mommy’s kiss here!” (Daddy had to settle for a kiss on the cheek.)

I made her a project to finish at the sitter’s house. On one of the pages I drew a picture. On the way, her daddy reminded her and she said, “I can look at the picture when I get lonely?”

How my little boy puckers his lips when it’s time for me to go. And how he wants to give a kiss to everyone in the family, because it’s only fair. . .

My baby boy’s first words: “ere’d daddin go?” “Daddin” for daddy, “-ater” for water, and “boop-boo” for poo-poo.

How he is the cuddliest cuddle bear! His cheeks on my chest in a puddle of baby drool, his arms hugging me. I hope he can feel my heart surrounding him.

How my girl repeatedly reaches out for me to make sure I’m still there as she falls asleep.

I know these days are limited, but these memories can last forever.

3 Responses to “Precious Moments”

  1. Lisa Sickel Says:

    I love that you are documenting the little things. It will be great for you to look back and see. From ICLW #37

    Like

  2. cassiedash Says:

    Stopping in for ICLW. What a beautiful tribute to your children. These are some of the best years of our lives and they’re passing so fast!

    Like

  3. svanyo Says:

    Thanks, ladies! They are passing too fast. I don’t think I will handle it very well when they flee the nest. Hopefully having these to look back on will help!

    Like


Leave a Reply

KTLA

Los Angeles News and Video for Southern California

Pretzels and chocolate

Thoughts of a thirty-something

Fielstra Family for Haiti

Thoughts of a thirty-something

Thoughts of a thirty-something

Stupid Stork

Thoughts of a thirty-something

deathbyassociation

Just another WordPress.com site

